One Word Photo Challenge – Snow

It seems funny to think of snow when we have been experiencing a string of 90+ degree days.  Obviously, I have to turn to my stash of snow pics as it would be quite a journey to find actual snow.

The train bridge in downtown Waxhaw.
The train bridge in downtown Waxhaw.

I laugh when I think of snow in North Carolina… or at least where we live in North Carolina.  Panic erupts at the thought of three inches of snow.  Up north, children everywhere are disappointed when only three inches arrives… it means no snow day.  Here it might mean two to three snow days.

A snow day in Waxhaw may mean a snow day for parents, too.
A snow day in Waxhaw may mean a snow day for parents, too.

“I love snow for the same reason I love Christmas: It brings people together while time stands still. Cozy couples lazily meandered the streets and children trudged sleds and chased snowballs. No one seemed to be in a rush to experience anything other than the glory of the day, with each other, whenever and however it happened.”
― Rachel Cohn, Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares

I especially love when the snow coats the branches of the trees… even the little tiny ones.  It creates a image filled with magic and beautiful silence.

snow_trees_fr_sm

I would love to travel on a train and enjoy clattering through the cold winter views while snug and warm inside the train car.

Train tracks disappearing into a wintery wonderland.
Train tracks disappearing into a wintery wonderland.

“Snow falling soundlessly in the middle of the night will always fill my heart with sweet clarity”
― Novala Takemoto, Missin’ (Novel)

8 thoughts on “One Word Photo Challenge – Snow

  1. These images are so beautiful. While, living in Florida now, I haven’t experienced a snow day in a very long time, but I love your words and the quote you include. Just like how I remember it – snow days are a tad magical. I especially love your first train track image – so picturesque. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Pingback: One Word Photo Challenge: Hail | Jennifer Nichole Wells

  3. GirlAstray

    I am going back to my homecountry soon and it is autumn now – but I really hope to get a nice winter full of snow – especially because my boyfriend from Colombia is coming with me and snow is what he imagines about winter 🙂 It would be disapointing to get just mud as some years!

Leave a Reply

