One Word Photo Challenge – Foggy

“moonlight disappears down the hills
mountains vanish into fog
and i vanish into poetry.”
― Sanober Khanlokfklfj

I love fog.  I love the mystical it weaves through areas, but leaves levels above and below it clear as if it is a river winding it’s way through earth.  My drive to work finds me driving through some farmland and my favorite drives are the ones that show the mist or fog elevated lazily over the fields.  Unfortunately, this is not a good time or place for me to be pulling over to the side of the road for a photo so close your eyes and imagine the soft light of morning sifting through the shimmery fog and creating a magical effect.

Foggy drive through the mountains of Carolina.
Foggy drive through the mountains of Carolina.

Instead my photo shares a harrowing drive home through heavy mountain fog.  In some photos you cannot see the car ahead.  The viewer would probably wonder why I would post a photo of solid gray, so I didn’t.  Although hazardous, the fog presented a sense of adventure and tension that was exhilarating.  When finally emerging from the blanketed area we laughed and clapped and found ourselves very hungry.  It was fun to recapture that childlike wonder that fog can evoke.

 

Join up with Jennifer’s  One Word Photo Challenge Here.

7 thoughts on “One Word Photo Challenge – Foggy

  1. Jennifer Nichole Wells

    Thanks to you both Cee and wardentee.

    I’m so happy to have you join the challenge. I imagine the soft fog over the farmland is beautiful! It terrifies me to even think about driving on a mountain through thick fog. So I commend you for seeming so calm. But then again, I live in Florida, so I’m not used to driving through mountains or hills even. Thank you so much for sharing your image and story.

    1. Thank you Jennifer! I love the challenges and missed participating. As for driving in the fog. My son was in the car ahead of us and that helped some knowing he was leading “the folks” down the mountain!

  2. Pingback: One Word Photo Challenge: Snow | Jennifer Nichole Wells

Leave a Reply

