Charlotte Garden Tour 2014

hydrangea_white_cr_sm“The master of the garden is the one who waters it, trims the branches, plants the seeds, and pulls the weeds. If you merely stroll through the garden, you are but an acolyte.”
Vera Nazarian, The Perpetual Calendar of Inspiration

Well, this weekend I viewed a few masters of the garden and I was just an acolyte.  And I will probably remain an acolyte until I can find my way around this rock hard clay.  In the meantime, walk along the paths…

tour_gate2_sm

I loved this gate.  The location on the shady side of an out building was perfect.  It looks like it has been there forever and makes you wonder what treasures are on the other side.

tour_flower shadow_sm

One of my favorite parts of gardens are the secret, hidden places that reveal treasures in the dappled light and shadow.

tour_cala lily_sm

“An ordinary visit to a beautiful garden always creates an extraordinary time!”
Mehmet Murat ildan

tour_flowering tree_smThe photo above is just one tiny branch of a tree full of these delicate little flowers.  I have never seen one of these before.  A gentleman told me what it was – in Latin – most definitely a Master Gardener.  So beautiful and delicate.  Reminded me of the lacy white sweet autumn Clematis I had in my former garden.  I have really missed that garden this year.  Slowly but surely we will have this one going, but we are not as young and strong as before.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Charlotte Garden Tour 2014

Leave a Reply

