Ailsa’s Photo Challenge – Summer

buoy1 by cindratee
buoy1, a photo by cindratee on Flickr.

I can’t remember where I found the link to Ailsa’s photo challenge. I think it came about as a result of an alternative challenge – reflections. Everyone loves a photo challenge, so here goes! Although I have a million beach photos and summer shots in Chicago and other localities, I chose this one. One of my most memorable summer vacations was spent with my sil, Chris. We went to Alaska.
Although Chris wasn’t with me on this particular adventure, we shared quite a few.  This was a photo whale watch tour.  Our boat was smaller and we were closer to water level than in most whale watching tour boats.  We had a pod of Orcas swim right under our boat.

I would go on another whale watching cruise in a minute.  There is nothing more fascinating than seeing them surface and move with their pods.  I felt like I had received a rare treasure.

10 thoughts on “Ailsa’s Photo Challenge – Summer

  1. This is great, I’m so glad you joined in the summer challenge, and summer in Alaska looks wonderful, I particularly like the top photo with everyone hanging out, that bird up top made me laugh, and the scenery is stunning. I have got to go to Alaska soon. What part were you in? xxx Ailsa

    1. One thing I forgot to mention about the buoy is that it stunk like a barnyard! So do whales. You can actually smell when they are in the area… I don’t remember if it from the blow hole or just in general. It’s been awhile since the trip.

  2. What an adveture. Reminds me of the time we went to the Phippeans last year and saw some baby dolphins. The boat slowed and stopped and we could see the shore in the distance. We all groaned thinking the boat broke down, but the driver stopped so we could see the dolphins. It was the coolest experience to witness… some came right along side the boat before catching up with the group and swimming into deeper waters.
    Thanks for stopping my blog too 🙂

    1. Thank you. The top one shows a little reflection from the glass of the ferris wheel, but I think it adds a little to the activity of the shot. The bottom is my grandson who is visiting with us. He was ducking in and out of the trees in the backyard. Sometimes going places adults don’t easily fit. That’s where I liked t o hang out in my early summer days.

Leave a Reply

