West Park Wetlands

I’m not sure what I was expecting when I left home this morning with my camera, tripod and bottle of water.  It was 7:15 and I was thinking low light garden shots.  The son is out with a vengeance today and our town doesn’t have much in the way of public gardens.  Hmmmmm.  So we found ourselves at West Park in their wetlands area.

First of all, there was nothing subtle about the light, even at 8:00 a.m.  BRIGHT!  And the interesting aspects seemed to be at a distance and I had offered my 300 lens to my friend.   Darn.  The best option was to get closer.  I’m brilliant.  The lilies were still all closed, but the water was filled with them.

I do like this photo.  You can see the detail without the glaring colors.  I find water lilies fascinating.  They thrive in the murky, yucky waters that hide all kinds of  “things” in their root system.  It’s a whole ecosystem.  And in those murky, icky, yucky waters that I don’t even want to dip a toe into, a beautiful flower opens and almost radiates a beautiful soft light.

This is probably my favorite shot from the whole morning.  Totally untouched.  It shows the messiness, the variety of  “stuff” in the water, the darkness and the simple, radiant beauty of the lily.

I missed some of the better shots of the blue heron because of my lens limitations, but managed to catch a decent one of it leaving to find some peace and quiet.  I think we disturbed his meditation.

And the last photo is one of the royal geese arriving.  I say royal because of all the honking and fanfare they made and then how they swam around the pond like they owned it.  All in all it was an enjoyable morning, but not what I thought it was going to be.

5 thoughts on “West Park Wetlands

    1. Thank you. I love water lilies. I like how they make you wait for them. Patience. There are some I’ve seen that when they first open they appear to have a light coming from within… it only lasts a short time…. then it is fully open and the sunlight takes over.

Leave a Reply

