How does your garden grow?

I love gardens.  Most of all  I love spring gardens.  They are so green after the dull browns and grays of winter.  I don’t have much of an early spring garden anymore.  My tulips and daffodils have given up the ghost and I haven’t worked at replenishing them.

Lilacs start my spring off with a beautiful aroma.  It was a perfect spring for them and they were beautiful and plentiful.

Then come the flowering bushes that form the back border of our yard.

The purple clematis are next.  I have another variety that has been on here before.

Peonies arrive and take over my garden.  I have 5 different varieties.

The Scarlett peony really is that color.  It is very difficult to capture.  Most of my photos show a garishly crimson color.

Along the side wall I have four foot high bushes of Knock Out Roses.  They have loved the spring.  There is another shade of darker pink/red, but it is another one I have problems capturing.

And now our garden has tomatoes.  They don’t look like much.  Four Better Boys, a Celebrity, an heirloom and I can’t remember the other name.  They’ve been fed and watered and now the sun is encouraging them to grow.  It’s time for the gardener to rest.

9 thoughts on “How does your garden grow?

  1. I’ve been having such a wonderful Spring, looking at everybody’s photographs. It is a marvellous thing when the ‘norm’ becomes exotic – as is the case with the Northern Hemisphere garden for me here in Sri Lanka. So, I smell the lilacs’ heady scent, and remember colder climes, the perfection of peonies freshly freed from the frozen earth … 🙂

  2. I love your post. Working in my garden now. I learned what to include in my garden from this post. Thanks for visiting my blog.
    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

Leave a Reply

